Sólo hablo español..

El título de mi blog no es la verdad. Obviamente. Quiero ser fluido en español. ¿Cómo puedo hablar el español. ¿Por qué no hablo español, con fluidez? Estas son las preguntas que rondan por mí todos los días.

Gracias Google, por la traducción.

Every time I see a Spanish speaking person I am reminded how lame I am. Okay, pity party over.

I would love to say that I have been studying so hard each and every day and I am just not comprehending the language. But, then I’d be lying, which I stopped doing about 9 days ago. The truth is, if I wanted to be ‘fluent enough’ I would be. I make time for whatever else I want. Spanish isn’t just going to come to me, I have to study. What sucks the worst is, at one time, I could carry on a conversation in Spanish. Now, I’m struggling to say what I don’t want in my Pisto Manchego. It’s so frustrating. Yes I know, but it’s my fault.

I would love to say this is my plan and how I will accomplish my goals, but then I feel like it becomes something I’m held responsible to, and I don’t like that feeling. But here’s my plan: STUDY MY BUTT OFF! I just have to go IN. If I want to learn Spanish and eventually travel and become the wife of a long haired, Spanish speaking, God loving, sexy Latino.. I need to quit procrastination and get my life together.

Self-study vs. Classroom

Should I enroll in a class? I think being in a classroom setting will provide the discipline, but will lack in pace (waiting for others, or going on without fully understanding) because it’s not only about me. Self-study would provide me with going at my own pace, but will lack discipline. Uuugh.

I’ve got to figure this thing out. That’s it. I’m quitting my job, studying 40 hours a week, overtime on Saturday, double time on Sunday and should be fluent by my first paycheck.

❤ Que sueñes con los angelitos

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy López
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 11:42:47

    Hola Angel! Thanks for your visit and comments on my blog. It’s always great to encounter others out there with the same love of language – particularly Spanish.

    I don’t consider myself one of those very gifted people who learns language easily but after all these years, I’m very proficient in Spanish — If I can do it, you can do it!

    I recommend making friends who speak Spanish on Skype — sort of like modern day pen pals – and practicing. Perhaps they want to learn English and you can take turns. One day they will speak Spanish to help you practice and one day you’ll speak English to help them.

    I also highly recommend the free language learning community Live Mocha: http://livemocha.com/

    Buena suerte!

    Reply

  2. Angel
    Nov 18, 2012 @ 04:48:55

    Thanks so much for your comment, Tracy! Skype is such a great idea, and was old that by someone else as well, just gotta get to it! I love livemocha.com too, again, I got to get back to it! I’m on my way though🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Black Girl, Latin World

Where fierceness, afrolatinidad and teatro take center stage

Vegans of Color

Because we don't have the luxury of being single-issue

African American - Latino World

Bienvenidos a todos. bookmark this blog under 'read when bored'..

Me & the Mexican

Bienvenidos a todos. bookmark this blog under 'read when bored'..

Latinaish

Una Gringa Bien Latina

my spanish obsession

Bienvenidos a todos. bookmark this blog under 'read when bored'..

Notes Of A Blogger

My Journey, My Life, My Notes

